

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Nebraska State Historical Society Foundation Kinman-Oldfield Suite | 128 N 13th Ste. 1010 Lincoln, NE 68508 P: 402-435-3535 Media Contact: Leslie Fattig Executive Director C: 402-209-9140 Ifattig@nshsf.org

Nebraska State Historical Society Foundation Elects Seven New Members to Board of Directors

LINCOLN, Neb. (July 9, 2021) – The Nebraska State Historical Society Foundation (NSHSF) announced today the election of seven new members to the NSHSF Board of Directors. New board members include Brian Croft, Sally Ganem, Roger Lempke, Helen Raikes, Dawn Rockey, Larry Small, and Randa Zalman.

"We are very pleased to welcome our seven new members to the Board," said Leslie Fattig, Executive Director at NSHSF. "These individuals bring a diverse background to the Nebraska State Historical Society Foundation. I am excited to work with them and I know they will all play a vital role in continuing our mission of preserving Nebraska's history for future generations."

Brian Croft has spent the last 15 years teaching Composition, Literature, and Nebraska History at Western Nebraska Community College in Scottsbluff.

Sally Ganem served as Nebraska's first lady from 2005 to 2015 when her husband, Dave Heineman, was Nebraska's governor. Ganem currently sits on the Fremont City Council.

Lt Gen (NE, ret.) **Roger Lempke** retired in January 2020. Prior to that, he served as the Director for Military Affairs for Senator Deb Fischer and Senator Mike Johanns.

Helen H. Raikes, Ph.D., is Willa Cather Professor Emeritus of Child, Youth and Family Studies, University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

Dawn Rockey is Executive Director at Court Appointed Special Advocates (CASA) for Lancaster County. Rockey has a background in state government and commercial banking.

Larry Small is a Lincoln Community Foundation Trustee and owns Flatwater Toys in Lincoln. Small was the first vice president-facilities and services manager at TierOne Bank.

Randa Zalman is an Assistant Professor of Marketing Strategy and MBA Programs at Bellevue University. Prior to that, Zalman was a marketing professional, agency principal, and entrepreneur.

NSHSF's new Board members will serve a two-year renewable term from 2021-2023. They join current Board members Trixie Schmidt, Gail DeBuse Potter, Rod Basler, Sue Clement, Martin Massengale, Ryan Sailer, and L. Joe Stehlik.

Learn more about the NSHSF here: https://www.nshsf.org/

About Nebraska State Historical Society Foundation

The mission of the Nebraska State Historical Society Foundation is to solicit financial contributions and other forms of support to help preserve and protect Nebraska's historical assets and ensure their accessibility to future generations. The Foundation partners with philanthropists and a wide array of public and private organizations from all across our state and beyond in pursuit of this collective cause. The Foundation also provides regular private financial assistance to the state agency known as History Nebraska, formerly the Nebraska State Historical Society. Since its founding in 1942, the Foundation continues to welcome all who value our state's unique heritage, and those who wish to join us in our work on behalf of Nebraska history.

The Foundation is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit corporation. Federal Tax ID #47-6000332. www.nshsf.org. Kinman-Oldfield Suite #1010. 128 North 13th Street. Lincoln, NE 68508.

For more information, please contact Leslie Fattig, Executive Director at lfattig@nshsf.org or 402-209-9140.

###